PECULIAR COMICS: VORTEX #1, copyright 2009 by ED
PECULIAR COMICS! FREE ON WEDNESDAYS!NOW WITH MORE STATUS QUO CHANGES than the “big two”!

After a trip to SPX this weekend, I’ve become inspired, and decided to experiment a bit with the medium. This isn’t to say this sort of thing hasn’t been done before, but it’s new for me. A “Vortex” comic is made by selecting five images (photos I’ve taken, made grayscale, and inked after printing) and five phrases (taken from things I’ve written in the past), pairing it down to three phrases, and leaving the connection up to the reader. I’ve always been intrigued by Scott McCloud’s explanation of “closure” in Understanding Comics, and was curious about what “closure” might happen when the images from panel to panel, and even the words within the panels, are seemingly unconnected.

Make your own stories and conclusions.

I certainly have a loose story formed for each one of these, but I’m not going to tell you what it is.

Enjoy it. Or don’t. But be sure to come back for the next one, going up tomorrow. Vector will occur every Monday through Friday. I’m not sure long this will last, but I’m curious to see for myself. At the very least, I have enough material right now to go for twenty-four installments.

I’m hoping to have some sort of printing before SPX next year.

